Time to revive this blog with two new MOOCs

Posted: July 7, 2012 in DigiFoot12, Game-Based Learning MOOC, MOOC
Tags: , ,


cc licensed ( BY NC SD ) flickr photo shared by EWagner79

Two very exciting MOOCs (Massive Open Online Course) have appeared on my radar in the last week, so in the spirit of online learning I thought I would sign up for them both. I am a big fan of the MOOC style of learning though in the past I haven’t shared as much (and therefore haven’t got as much out of them) as I would have liked to. Of course the idea of a MOOC is that you can come and go as you please and need to according to the areas that you would like to learn about. However, I really would like to expand my PLN to include other passionate teachers using technology so that is the thinking behind joining the following two MOOCs.

The first is the DigiFoot12 MOOC put on through Student 2.0. I am very excited about being a part of this MOOC as I often talk to students about their presence online and the effect that they may have on their future. Basically, putting your best (digital) foot forward. This MOOC will hopefully expand my understanding of digital footprints and get her other people thoughts and ideas about his extremely important and often disregarded topic. In future posts I will be sharing my understanding and thoughts about what a digital footprint is and why it is so important plus any other “ah-ha” moments I have during the MOOC.

The second is the game based learning MOOC put on by the Centre4EduPunx. as a gamer and a teacher I am very interested in how games can be used to engage students in a way that allows them to explore curriculum and other (and often more) important skills and knowledge as well as develop a love for learning and in turn pursue, what I believe is the ultimate goal as a teacher, life-long learning. I think game-based learning is an essential tool (one of many) that educators should understand and use in the process of teaching and learning. That said, I don’t think that I understand it very well yet, and need to increase my learning in this area and so I think this MOOC will definately be a stepping stone in that direction.

I have included links if you are interested in joining either or both of these MOOCs. I would encourage you if you have participated in a MOOC that you give them a try. They can be some of the best learning and professional development that you will engage in.

Comments
  1. Gary Peacock says:

    I have registered twice. Never got an email to get a password. I cannot find a contact link anywhere on the site> HELP!

    • sdpankhurst says:

      Hi Gary, the first thing that would would check is the spam folder as some filters may mistake the reply email as spam. If you use a web-based mail this should be a folder. If you use Outlook or another locally installed webmail program then it may be in it’s Spam folder. If all else fails the Support link for WordPress.com can be found by clicking on the “question mark in a circle” located on the top left of the main column. Then near the bottom left under the heading “On WordPress.com” you will see the link to Support and the Forums. Hopefully this helps đŸ™‚

Leave a comment